Devastating Error

Something happened yesterday that profoundly impacted my world.

I wasn’t looking for trouble.  In fact, it was quite the opposite.  My only goal was to be helpful.  I carry myself through this world with a simple credo:  be helpful and leave people with a smile.  That is why I am astonished that I could be responsible for something so significantly horrendous.  Even now as I reflect upon the events leading up to this tragedy, I’m overwhelmed that I could have been so careless.  Where was my mind?  I can only blame myself, as there were no other people involved.

I missed the utensil basket and dropped a spoon into bottom of the dishwasher.

Unthinkable.  I just stood there, dumb-founded, frozen in that leaning over position watching in slow-motion as my hand released the spoon.  It wasn’t even close.  It missed the basket by more than a few inches and then started to bounce around the plates.  In that instant a million thoughts rang through my head as the spoon cascaded downward belting out a beautiful chorus of wind chime songs.  I remained frozen.  I didn’t even attempt to reach out to it.  I just watched its fateful journey downward.  My mind moved to a series of wishful thoughts—the happy endings that I knew were simply not feasible.  Only tragedy could be the ending to this journey.  Oh precious spoon, please settle down across the rack.  I’m begging you.  Don’t fall through.

It fell through as the final chime rang out and the silence began.

How did I let this happen?  My heart sunk as a realized that I now had big questions weighing down on my shoulders.  These important questions will define who I am as a husband, a father, a caring member of society.  Where do I go from here?  How do I recover from this devastating situation?  What actions can I take to right such a wrong?

And then like a light shining down from the stars, the answer that I was longing for washed over me.  The correct course of action filled my thoughts.  The warmth of knowing how to carry on and remedy this scenario filled my insides.

I’ll blame my children.

I closed the dishwasher door and walked away.

Buy my book and blame it on my children.

28 responses to “Devastating Error

  1. OMG really? A spoon? I was actually nervous in the first paragraphs.

    Lesson learned – Don’t go near the dishwasher again. Just wash your spoons.

  2. Dropping a spoon, eh? You know what Freud would say about that, don’t you? (Neither do I.)

  3. I just leave them there when that happens and hope my husband will fish it out. Those utensil baskets can be dangerous things….I’ve endured many a sliced finger trying to dig out dropped spoons. Don’t feel guilty — you did the right thing!

  4. Ahh, so much suspense and then…a spoon.
    Too funny. And very smart. That’s why people decide to have kids, isn’t it?

  5. I’ve never thought of using the kids as scapegoats…they do, however, do all the dishes at my house. Saving me from the terror of spoon droppage 🙂

    • We all load our own dishes, but (when i’m not dropping spoons) I’m the only one who does it properly.

      • I can definitely agree there. The young ones don’t get the concept of stacking things. I think my 17 year old stands on the far side of the kitchen, tosses dishes randomly into the machine, then runs the water in the sink for 15 minutes to make me think he’s doing something productive.

  6. Always blame the children for such tragedies!! That’s what we had them for. Well, and to go out in public and watch cartoon movies. 😊

  7. That’s what children are for 🙂

  8. Just laughed my arse off – classic! 🙂

  9. When sh!t happens I will follow your lead 🙂 Thank you for the laugh and showing me the righteous path

  10. That made me laugh out loud! Loved it! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  11. At least YOU tried to put it IN the dishwasher! But I will take note! NOW I knoooow…. to be glad my husband only makes it to the sink! lol.

Thoughts? Go.

